Up and Away We Go

8 02 2010

Wow! It’s been an emotional roller coaster the last couple weeks getting this project off the ground. One moment I’m so terrified I’m afraid my shaking is going to knock my socks off, the next I’m as giddy as a woman about to meet her first grandchild.

The most time-consuming thing has definitely been the visuals. Creating a suitable banner, an outline, and an intro video all add up to some serious time-gobbling business. It was my first time making a video, so I had to struggle through finding an appropriate video editor, figuring out how to make the quality of the video adequate, and, of course, the ‘filming’ itself takes a while. Then, the sketch-up of an example two page spread took quite a while too, between trying to decide what it should look like, creating the art, and writing the text.

Other progress includes reading up on Portugal, China and Japan in the library and getting some ideas about what I need to research and look for in those places. I also started a draft document for the first few pages of the book. Experimenting with tone and characterization is tricky business. Along with that, I did some very rough sketches for the first 4 page spreads and brainstormed the format for the book.

early format sketch: 4 pgs.

And now it’s time to start my weekly blogs, kicking it off with this one! The plan is to post blogs updating you on my progress and sharing some of the cool stuff I’ve discovered and people I’ve met. You can expect to see them on Saturday or Sunday.

What are my goals for the project this week?

It’s time to get the word out there. My goal is to contact no less than 100 people and invite them to join the project in some way. I’ll tweet through the week to let you know how I’m doing. I also plan to do further research on some of the countries.

Now, for a few of my fun finds of the last couple weeks:

http://www.paintmap.com/ – Paint Map: a very cool community site based of google maps where you can upload paintings/art you’ve done by location. I’m hoping to find some fantastic artists and also get inspiration for my own paintings for the book.

http://upl.codeq.info/ – The Universal Packing List: definitely going to be helpful as my characters figure out what to pack for their very very long journey.

http://www.hitchhikers.org/ – Hitchikers.org: this is a bit crazy, but people post if they are willing to carry people in their cars, and the locations they are traveling from and to. They can charge if they want. It’s a cool idea, but it just doesn’t seem very safe to me. But what do I know?

http://www.wherethehellismatt.com/ – Last, but not least, we have Matt, dancing badly around the world. Great project. Very funny.

Actions

Information

4 responses

9 02 2010
Ruzena Thibault

I haven’t been to too many of the places listed but I do have some interesting things about a couple of them.

For instance, my fiancee lived right outside of Denver, Colorado when I met him. He said sometimes the mountains seemed like they were there on some days but weren’t on others. Like they faded in and out. Sometimes he’d drive over a hill on his way to work and BAM! There were the snow-capped peaks and blue mountains.

I just thought it was a neat idea to have them fading in and out. Obviously, your character that can only go in one direction would have to find a way over all of the mountains. That could be interesting.

In Pennsylvania are a few different forest preserves with all sorts of trees and plants that you can’t find in other places very easily. (because they’ve died out due to human over-use of the woods) Maybe that would be interesting to mention. You’d have to do a little research on that though because I obviously didn’t learn enough in my Botany class to remember what those plants are. ^.^’ *is an English/Ed. Major*

I just remember from driving through Pennsylvania during the spring that it is one of the most beautiful drives I’ve ever been on. Flowers at every turn and green grass as far as the eyes can see.

Hm… that’s all I have for now. This is such a great idea. 🙂

9 02 2010
Megan

Wow, thanks Ruzena, those are some good ideas! I will look into them.
Thank you,
Megan

9 02 2010
Archi Teuthis

Foggie! Foggie! You’re never gonna guess who lives a half hour from the 40th parallel in Utah! 😉

Shall I gather all the anecdotes I can and send them off to you?

9 02 2010
Megan

Oiy! That’s perfect! Yeah, gather up anecdotes, local trivia, pictures… I mean, there’s all sorts of possibilities!

You could find a spot nearby that’s right on the 40th parallel and go take some pictures there. If you wanted to be super cool, you could collect something that you find there, maybe a local plant, or a random piece of trash you find lying around and you could mail it to me. How cool would it be to get a piece of the 40th parallel in the mail? It would definitely be worthy a youtube video. ( :

If you decide to mail me something, just shoot me an email for my mailing address.

Wow, that’s exciting!

Leave a Reply

